Main menu

Due to the holidays, all Dayton Metro Library locations will be closed on: Wednesday, Dec. 24, Thursday, Dec. 25, Wednesday, Dec. 31 and Thursday, January 1st.

Research & Databases

Academic Search Premier
The world's largest academic database, this provides full text for more than 4,500 publications. Backfiles to 1975 or further are available for over one hundred journals.
African-American Experience in Ohio
Digital collection of manuscript collections, newspaper articles, serials, photographs, and pamphlets. Gives an overview of Ohio's African-Americans' experiences during the time period 1850 to 1920 in the words of the people that lived them.
African-American History and Culture
This covers topics such as affirmative action, civil rights, emancipation, free blacks, migrations, racial violence and hate crimes, slavery, social work and philanthropy, sports, and visual arts. It includes, biographies, primary sources, timelines, subject entries and images.
ALLDATA - (In Library Only)
Online resource for automobile diagnostics and repair information.  Includes Technocal Service Bulletins, wiring diagrams, and computer codes meanings.
American & English LIterature Collection
Electronic books of American and English literature - poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible - originally published in print. Explore American poetry from 1600 to the present. Compare different editions of Shakespeare’s work. Read early American fiction. Explore English drama.
America's Newspapers
America's News provides unique access to over 2,100 local, regional and national news sources, featuring over 40 titles from the state of Ohio. Compare perspectives from across the nation, track trends, and find information on a variety of topics and issues.
Ancestry Library Edition - (In Library Only)
Hundreds of databases, files, maps and publications online. Helpful Lessons for beginning genealogists.
Biography Reference Bank
Biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals – both living and deceased, updated monthly. Find multiple sketches of a subject's life. Search by time period, profession, place of origin, and birth and death dates.
BookFlix
Pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction books on the Library's Web site.
Business Source Premier
Accesses scholarly business journals and other sources . This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922.
Consumer Health Complete (from EBSCO) Provides a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content.
Contemporary Authors
Contemporary Authors provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
CultureGrams
This collection of 68 country reports teaches upper elementary-aged children more about the world around them. Each report includes up-to-date, engaging cultural information, complete with images, historical timeline, fun facts, and sections on history, population, “life as a kid”, and more.
Dayton Daily News Archive
Full text articles from the Dayton Daily News dating as far back as 1990. Articles written by Dayton Daily News staff and other selected articles are available approximately 24 hours after publication. This does not contain obituaries or classified advertising.
Dayton Obituary Index
Index to obituaries and death notices appearing in Dayton newspapers between 1850-1890, portions of the 1950's, and 1985 to the present. Full-text obituaries are not available online.
Dayton Remembers: Digital Image Collection
Contains thousands of digitized images and documents pertaining to the history of the Miami Valley.  All items included in this site are owned by the Dayton Metro Library.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
This provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
EBSCOHost  All EBSCOHost databases. - EBSCOHost Mobile Site
Ebscohost MasterFILE Premier
Full text articles from nearly 2,000 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science. It is updated daily.
Elibrary
Full text articles from a wide range publications, including popular magazines and scholarly journals, newspapers and news wires, TV and radio transcripts, photographs and maps.
Explore Ohio (was Discover Ohio) Look up information about Ohio.  Find Ohio-focused websites by category or by county.
FDsys, the Federal Digital System
This is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal Government.
Foundation Directory Online Professional - (Main Library Only)
Information about grant makers and their giving interests
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online - (Main Library Only)
Database of more than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers.
Gale Virtual Bookshelf
Search Gale databases and Gale Reference titles using this attractive search page.
Gale Virtual Directory Library
Search the directory Encyclopedia of Associations - National Organizations of the US.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search Reference Books online.  INcludes medical, science, historical, and many other reference subjects.
Kids Search
Research tool for middle school and elementary age students from EBSCOhost.  Search the encyclopedia. Look up words in the dictionary. Explore and search by topic.
Law Depot
Create the document you need in just minutes and print it instantly. No software to download and no waiting for documents to arrive in the mail. Just instant access.
Literary Reference Center Contains information about thousands of authors and their works from the full texts of literary journals and reference books. These works encompass novels, plays, short stories, and poems. Thousands of them are in full text. You’ll find plot summaries, literary criticism, author biographies and interviews, and book reviews.
Learning Express Library
Learning Express Library provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help people succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.
Literature Resource Center
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Mango Languages
Mango Languages builds basic skills quickly and easily using an engaging interface and intuitive, interactive tools to get you started on conversational skills right away. It’s designed to help you remember key phrases and conversational skills using words, sounds and images, all self-paced.
Morningstar
Data reports for investors cover more than 20,000 stocks and mutual funds.
Netwellness
A non-profit consumer health web site that provides high quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty from Ohio.
Newspaper Source
Full text articles from national (U.S.) and international newspapers as well as television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 Plus, a fiction and nonfiction books database, is designed with a bright, appealing layout, designed especially for elementary and middle schools. The “Working with Kids” section of the Browse panel on the homepage provides a single location to access all of the curricular materials such as our Grab and Go Book Lists, BookTalks, Picture Book Extenders and more!
Novelist Plus
Like to read books? Browse book lists, fiction or nonfiction based on books you've read or topics in which you are interested. Book award lists are included.
Ohio Death Certificate Index
From the Ohio Historical Society, this provides death certificate information for Ohio residents spanning the years 1913-1937.
Ohio Memory
From the Ohio Historical Society, this contains over 26,000 digitized historical documents from Ohio libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives.
ohio.gov Government Information and Services
State of Ohio web page for access to information about state services.
Ohioline (from OSU Ext. service)
Ohio State University Extension Service information about home and garden, food, family activities, small business, farming, and home economics.
OhioLINK Literature Online
Electronic texts of American and English literature - poetry, drama, fiction, and the Bible - originally published in print.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Philanthropy In/Sight- (In Library Only)
Philanthropy In/Sight is a mapping tool from the Foundation Center that depicts private, non-governmental grants and nonprofit grant recipients. It is available from the Main Library only. See also the database Foundation Directory Online Professional.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Providing a balance of materials from all viewpoints, it also includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. It also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
Readers Guide Retrospective
This is an index to magazine articles covering 1890 - 1982. Many of these are available as print copies in the Dayton Metro Library's Magazine and Special Collection Room at the Main Library. 
Reference USA Business
This contains detailed information on more than 12 million U.S. businesses, compiled from Yellow Page and Business White Page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks and other SEC reports.
Reference USA Residential
This contains detailed directory information on more than 102 million U.S. residents, compiled from White Page telephone directories.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Contains historical maps of Ohio towns and cities. Originally used for fire insurance records, these detailed maps identify individual buildings on each block.
Science Online
This homework helper offers a comprehensive, authoritative overview of the sciences that are especially helpful for science fair projects.
Science Reference Center
Includes thousands of full-text articles, essays, and biographies on topics and people in various fields of science. This includes biology, chemistry, physics, earth sciences, space sciences, environmental sciences, mathematics, technology, and wildlife. The articles are standards-based and correlate to state and national curriculum standards. You will also find images, videos, and animations.
Searchasaurus
Complete with erupting volcanoes, dinosaur guide and compass, Searchasaurus is an easy way for kids to look up topics for homework.
Student Research Center
One-stop shopping for high school research. Includes photos, maps, country and state reports, biographies, encyclopedia articles, and more.
ValueLine - (In Library Only)
This is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world. It includes analysis of stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertibles.
Workforce Skills for 21st Century Success (from LearningExpress) provides resources to boost basic workplace and job search skills.
World Book Online
The classic homework tool is for searching on a variety of topics, including articles, audio clips, video clips, images,timelines.
WorldCat - (In Library Only)
This is a giant catalog of books, recordings and more held by libraries all over the world. It's a good place to go to verify the existence of a title or to look up the output of an author.
© 2014 Dayton Metro Library. Site Design by Oxiem. All Rights Reserved. Sitemap - Privacy Policy
(Currently Viewing DesktopTabletPhone Design)

CalendarRSSContactSearchConfiguration

Font Size

Bigger Reset Smaller

Translate

click again to close